Five Days.

Good evening everyone!

I hope you all had a wonderful Holiday season and a happy New Year!

Winter break has been going on for a little over a month now, but it barely feels like yesterday that Fall semester and Finals were over. Time has really flown by! (Yes, that’s a cliché. I’m sorry.)

It is now, officially, FIVE DAYS BEFORE SPRING 2015 SEMESTER.

I don’t know about you all, but I found myself thinking of the negative aspects of going back to school a little too much. Lectures to (try to) be on time to, homework to do,  and tests to study for. It’s easy, at least for me, to focus on these less-than-enjoyable facets of school right before a new semester begins. I think it’s pretty dumb to start worrying about bad things before they even happen, so I’m going to devote the rest of this post to the good things that a new semester brings!

  • Learning new things:

Seesh, I’m really leaning on those platitudes today, aren’t I? But no, I’m serious. While there are certainly people enrolled in college with the primary goal of enriching themselves and getting educated for Education’s sake, many of us are primarily going to school to get a degree and, in turn, a career. It’s important to remember, however, that college isn’t just about getting a piece of paper that hopefully gets us a job.  One of the great things about Community College is that the professors’ main job is to teach. (Unlike some Four-Year universities, where professors devote much of their time to research and publishing.) In my time at Bakersfield College, I’ve had some amazing teachers who have taught me a lot— and not just what I need to pass their class. So, for all of you busy bees out there with achievement on the brain, remember to step back from time to time and truly enjoy the experience of learning.

  • Making new friends:

I’ve professed my love for Bakersfield College, and Community College in general, to you all before. However, there are some things that I don’t like. Despite their name, there just doesn’t seem to be a strong sense of “community” at Community Colleges (Irony in the wild). As soon as class is dismissed, most students bolt out of the door and straight to their cars. There’s a couple of legitimate reasons for this:

  1. Community Colleges are ‘commuter schools’ since they have no on-campus housing.
  2. Many students in Community College have other commitments on top of school

Of course there’s nothing wrong with being busy and trying to prioritize your time. But, if you can, I suggest you try and make some time to meet some of your classmates— or even random students around school! I’ve met a ton of awesome people and made a lot of great friends in the last two years at BC. All it took was a little extra time and effort an on my part to say hi. Also, BC has a lot of clubs where students can meet others with similar interests. In the coming weeks, I hope to share information on them with you all.

  • A fresh start:

As we all know, a New Year brings a “New Start”. But so does a new semester! I’ve had my fair share of problems with school in the past: lower-than-ideal grades, dropped classes, lackluster experiences. It’s easy to get discouraged by these things, but we must remember that the best way to improve on the past is by moving forward. If you didn’t do as well as you wanted last semester, now is the perfect opportunity to make things better!

Thanks for reading! I’ve got a lot of great Back-To-School content coming up for you all, so keep your eyes peeled!

See you soon, Renegades

-Salvador Cruz

Leave a Reply

